Ireland: Settling In / Studying Abroad at UCC

There is a devil in my throat.

10 Reasons why it’s great to have strep throat in Ireland:

IMG_0584

#1: HTH Worldwide healthcare responded to an email within a day and scheduled my appointment for me.

#2: Taylor and I had to hail a taxi. We were successful.

#3: Our taxi driver was an elderly-ish, political Irish man whose motto was: If you don’t want to get old, don’t be old. When he is 85 years old, he wants to be thinking like a 20 year old…with an open mind that embraces change.

#4: The receptionist, nurse, and doctor were all super nice ladies.

#5: I DIDN’T HAVE TO HAVE MY THROAT SWABBED.

#6: I DIDN’T HAVE TO WAIT FOR A THROAT CULTURE.

#7: The doctor prescribed me penicillin. 🙂

#8: We talked to a nice Irish guy at the bus stop who confirmed that the bus would get us close to where we wanted to go and pointed us in the right direction before he got off at his stop.

#9: I was able to go to any pharmacy I wanted and was able to pick my prescription up when I got there by handing over one piece of paper.

#10: We managed to make it back to our apartment from the clinic on €1.80 bus fare and a lovely walk through Cork City Centre. Taylor and I each bought a dress on the way back and some food.

& Taylor fell asleep in the lounge of the clinic while waiting for me. Obviously we have not yet caught up on our sleep.

Leave a Reply

