St. Norbert College / This is me.

I don’t want to leave this place.

The only reason I haven’t cried today is because I’ve been too busy. Not in an entirely sad way…but more of a bittersweet-I-don’t-want-to-leave-this-place-in-9-months way. But seriously, how do three years fly by so quickly?

When the topic of being a senior comes up we all prefer not to discuss the issue. Because we really, actually, genuinely don’t want to leave. It hasn’t always been like that, but I’m thankful for all that has kept me here.

My sophomore year of college I applied to the Carlson School of Management at the University of Minnesota as a transfer student. And I was accepted. I can only imagine where I would be at today had I accepted the offer, but I am thankful I did not. In the past year and a half I have met some incredibly wonderful people. I had the opportunity to see more of the world than I ever expected to. And today I had my last first day at St. Norbert College.

It has been a crazy busy week, but I feel like I’m where I should be. Last Sunday I began training along with 47 other upperclassmen to become a First Year Experience (FYE) mentor to our first-year students. We trained for 36 hours in 3.5 days and met our groups of first-year students this past Thursday. From Thursday-Sunday we spent every day attending and leading various orientation activities with our groups. We will continue meeting with our groups on each Tuesday for the next 10 weeks. I told my group that I’m jealous they have 4 years left and I only have 1.

On Sunday all first-year students had convocation (which is basically the opposite of graduation). And all I could think of was graduation. And how I don’t want it to come.

Aside from FYE, my real baby this year is blogging for the Sturzl Center for Community Service and Learning. I have worked for the Sturzl Center for the past 2 years and am thrilled to be back. We have been looking for a more effective way to share the stories of service on campus…which I viewed as the perfect opportunity to turn this blogging hobby into something more. I am beyond excited to have the opportunity! Check it out: sturzlcenter.com.

And even though in this post, academics are coming third…they are the priority, I suppose. 🙂 I already am aware of the difficulty I am going to have transitioning back into actually having to do homework (as opposed to my homework-less semester in Ireland). But luckily, I am excited for all of my courses this semester, especially Business and Professional Speaking. In this class we will be giving various presentations, but we will also be learning about resumes, cover letters, and interviewing…all of which I genuinely enjoy working on. In addition to Business and Professional Speaking, I am taking Organizational Communication, Strategic Management Seminar (Business), Marketing Management and Strategy, and Honors Tutorials (including puppeteering!).

And to fill in any gaps, I am working at the Sturzl Center 3 days a week, continuing my internship at The Einstein Project until October, serving as a student representative on the Student Government, and am beginning to study for the GRE (the entrance exam for graduate school!). It’s definitely going to be a crazy semester, but a wonderful one at that.

My next big plans are going home to visit my family this weekend. Because someone thinks they’re going to move to California in a week. So I have to go home, say goodbye, and then sneak into the back seat/trunk unknowningly before they drive away. And of course cuddle with my cat.

Cheers.

Leave a Reply

