Uncategorized

The Spider & The Fly.

If you’re not in the mood for heebie-jeebies and/or you absolutely detest spiders…this post is not for you. Consider yourself warned.

Just a few minutes ago, I was sitting on the floor in Russ’ apartment…minding my own business, when suddenly I heard a loud buzzing. I’ll admit I’ve been caught off guard before by his automatic airfreshner a time or two, but this time I knew it was something different.

Nearby the window sill there arose such a clatter,
I sprang from the floor to see what was the matter.
(That aided itself too well.)

So anyway, I followed the sound to investigate and came upon a creepy [I-still-feel-crawly] situation.

Step 1: Look at window.

Step 2: Peak through blinds.

Step 3: See spider on inside of screen.

Step 4: See spider holding onto another bug in a tiny hole (pulling the other bug in…from the outside!)

So anyway, the culprit was a spider, pulling a fly in through a small fly-size hole, then taking off its leg, wrapping the leg in a web…and then finishing the fight.

Kind of cool. Kind of not happy that I witnessed it. But at the same time, I’m not totally upset.

But I did kill the spider, not gonna lie. I love animals and don’t like killing things, but I justified it for three primary reasons:

(1) This guy was on the inside of the apartment.

(2) I personally witnessed his ability to kill.

(3) I needed to shut the window to prevent future occurrences & unfortunately for him, he was seated in the window track.

Here’s a video of the latter events for your enjoyment.

Cheers.

Leave a Reply

