Uncategorized

Casserole & Uncertainty

Right now there are a million and one things I should be doing, but instead I’m eating leftover green bean casserole and contemplating life. But actually. Good news is, the green bean casserole is made from scratch with fresh green beans… and I made it like a real adult. The bad news is, green beans are way more work than they’re worth. #cannedbeansFTW

Moral of the story, I’ve been a student for the past 18 years. And in 3 months, I will graduate with a Master’s degree. Weird, right? And weirder yet, it’s the first time I can remember feeling this immense sense of uncertainty. Because even though the past 18 years have been full of everything from playing toilet tag (it’s a thing), to backpacking through Europe, there’s been a pattern. Nine months of school. Three months of summer. And one consistent label, a student.

313288_2531368969489_28045310_n

Laura (in the back), toilet tag age. Sarah (in the front), best sister.

In 3ish months, that pattern (& identity) will be disrupted [in a great way] by a full time job. Which fills me with excitement, but also a truckload of uncertainty. It’s such an interesting time of life to wake up and have this thought flash through my head: ‘I have no idea where I will be or what I will be doing in 3 months’. Like seriously, come mid-May, I don’t even know what state I’ll be in [like geographical area, but I suppose physical/mental state is relevant as well].

Which triggers a creative brainstorm of possibilities, while simultaneously releasing a wild pack of butterflies in my stomach.

Lucky for me, as a graduate assistant in Career Services, I’m a job nerd. I love resumes. I’m passionate about a cover letter that truly expresses someone’s personality. And an engaging job description motivates me. But at the same time, it’s a long process. There’s ups, there’s downs, emotions, preparation, time… but eventually there’s also going to be certainty to replace the un[certainty].

And as much as I think I don’t like this time of uncertainty, it’s almost something I want to appreciate (for the time being). Because to some extent, it comes with freedom that some people never get to experience. This notion of not being [truly] tied to much of anything. This feeling that I’m on the brink of beginning, again. This time where the cliche quote, “The possibilities are endless,” is a pretty accurate phrase to describe my outlook. Which is actually kinda cool.

So to my cohort-mates, I hope you’re inspired by the possibilities. Because you’re all some truly wonderful humans.

Cheers.

One thought on “Casserole & Uncertainty

Leave a Reply

